2003 Eastern Economics Association

Preliminary Program

Feb 21-23, 2003

Friday, February 21, 9:00am
[7] ACTIVE AND COOPERATIVE LEARNING IN ECONOMICS  [JEL Code A]
Session Chair:  Annette D. Forti, SUNY Old Westbury (NO EMAIL)

Students in Control: A Variation on Selective Grading
Martin Gritsch,
William Patterson University (gritschm@wpunj.edu)

An Open Source Content Management System for the Development of a Hybrid Environment in Economic Lessons
Panayotis Tyrovouzis, University of Macedonia (tyrov@uom.gr);  Stavros Tsopoglou, University of Macedonia;   Despoina Bousiou, University of Macedonia and Vasilios Katos, Cambridge Technology Partners

Measuring Learning under Alternative Teaching Pedagogy: An Experimental Investigation
Elias C. Grivoyannis,
Yeshiva University (grivoyan@ymail.yu.edu)

Discussants:
Richard J. Torz, St. Joseph's College (rtorz@sjcny.edu)
Elias C. Grivoyannis, Yeshiva University (grivoyan@ymail.yu.edu)
Martin Gritsch, William Patterson University (gritschm@wpunj.edu)
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Friday, February 21, 11:00am
[38] DISTANCE LEARNING IN INTRODUCTORY ECONOMICS COURSES: AN ASSESSMENT OF ON LINE COURSE DEVELOPMENT, IMPLEMENTATION, AND TEACHING EFFECTIVENESS - A VIEW FROM THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK [JEL Code A]
Session Organizer and Chair: Leon Battista, Bronx Community College of CUNY (leonbattista@msn.com)

Panelists:
Jay Hamilton, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY (rhannum@citytech.cuny.edu)
Randall Hannum, New York City Technical College, CUNY (jhamilton@jjay.cuny.edu)
TBA

Discussion among panelists and audience.

Friday, February 21, 2:00 pm
[41] ASPECTS OF TEACHING AND LEARNING IN A COLLEGE SETTING    [JEL Code A]
Session Organizers and Chair: James H. Cassing, University of Pittsburgh (jcassing@pitt.edu) and Jerome C. Wells, University of Pittsburgh (wells01@pitt.edu)
Session Chair: Sofia Demelis, Athens School of Economics and Business

How Students Use Online Materials in a Virtual Principles of Microeconomics Class
Byron Brown,
Michigan State University and Carl Liedholm, Michigan State University

How Important is Student Effort?
Dharmarajan Hariharan,
University of Pittsburgh and Kevin Sontheimer, University of Pittsburgh

An Examination of the Determinants of Student Evaluations of Economic Instructors
Michael McPherson,
University of North Texas

The Earnings and Academic Performance of College Students
Frederick Tannery, Slippery Rock University and University of Pittsburgh and Jesus Valencia, Slippery Rock University

Discussants:
Maria Cruz-Saco, Connecticut College
Eva Paus, Mt. Holyoke College
Shirley Cassing, University of Pittsburgh

Friday, February 21, 2:00 pm
[45]  INTEGRATING TECHNOLOGY IN ECONOMICS AND BUSINESS CURRICULUMS: PANEL SESSION I [JEL Code A]
Session Organizer and Chair: Richard J. Torz,
St. Joseph's College-New York
(rtorz@sjcny.edu)

Panelists:
William Strickland, College of Mount Saint Vincent (stricklandw@yahoo.com)
Peter Gomori, St. Francis College (PSGomori@aol.com)
Bridget Lyons, Sacred Heart University (LyonsB@sacredheart.edu)

Discussion will take place among panelists and the session audience.

Friday, February 21, 4:00 pm
[65]  INTEGRATING TECHNOLOGY IN ECONOMICS AND BUSINESS CURRICULUMS: PANEL SESSION II [JEL Code A]
Session Organizer and Chair: Richard J. Torz,
St. Joseph's College-New York
(rtorz@sjcny.edu)

Panelists:
Luis Rivera, Dowling College (RiveraL@dowling.edu)
Elizabeth Granitz, Long Island University-Southampton College
(Lgranitz@southampton.liu.edu)
Glenn Gerstner, St. Johnís University (gerstneg@stjohns.edu)
Jim Barbour, Elon University (barbour@elon.edu)

Discussion will take place among panelists and the session audience.

      Saturday, February 22, 9:00am
[87] TEACHING AND LEARNING ECONOMICS                [JEL Code A]
Session Chair: Mary Rose Leacy,
Wagner College (mleacy@wagner.edu)

Celebrating Economics as a Social Science
Kristin K. Kucsma,
Seton Hall University (kkucsma@aol.com)

Online Learning as an Improvement?  The Case of Economic Principles
Chiara Gratton-Lavoie, California State University Fullerton (cgratton@fullerton.edu) and Denise Stanley, California State University
Fullerton

Mental Gymnastics of a Peculiarly Depraved Kind
Allan G. Sleeman,
Western Washington University (allan.sleeman@wwu.edu)

Discussants:
Mary Rose Leacy, Wagner College (mleacy@wagner.edu)
Allan G. Sleeman, Western Washington University (allan.sleeman@wwu.edu)
Kristin K. Kucsma, Seton Hall University (kkucsma@aol.com)
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Saturday, February 22, 2:00pm
[126] TEACHING AND QUANTITATIVE SKILLS IN ECONOMICS [JEL Code A]
Session Chair: Richard J. Torz,
St. Joseph's College (rtorz@sjcny.edu)

Economic Impact Studies as a Service Learning Tool: A Case Study Approach
David B. Culp,
Slippery Rock University (david.culp@sru.edu) and John M. Misner, Slippery Rock University (john.misner@sru.edu)

Statistics for Economics and Business Majors: Have We Been Listening to What the Students Have to Say About This Course?"
Ora Freedman,
Villa Julie College (f-freedm@mail.vjc.edu)

Infusing Quantitative Skills in Current Economic Courses
Melaku Lakew,
Richard Stockton College (melaku.lakew@stockton.edu) and Renga Iyer, Richard Stockton College

Discussants:
Richard J. Torz, St. Joseph's College (rtorz@sjcny.edu)
Ronald L. Straight, Howard University (rstraight@howard.edu)
Ora Freedman, Villa Julie College (f-freedman@mail.vjc.edu)

Sunday, February 23, 9:00am
[160] TEACHING ECONOMICS  Part I  [JEL Code A]
Sponsored by tch-econ (The Teaching of Economics Discussion List)
Session Organizer and Chair: Jim Barbour,
Elon University (barbour@elon.edu)

Marketing Economics Courses
David Mitchell,
George Mason University

An Industry-Based Approach to Teaching Introductory Microeconomics
Donald A. Coffin,
Indiana University Northwest

Krugman Meets Marx and Keynes at the Baby-sitting Co-op
Mark Lautzenheiser, University of Minnesota - Duluth and Yavuz Yasar, University of Minnesota - Duluth and University of Utah

Discussants:
Steven Greenlaw,
Mary Washington College
Judy Roobian-Mohr,
Columbus State Community College
Jim Barbour,
Elon University

Sunday, February 23, 11:00am
[180] TEACHING ECONOMICS  Part II [JEL Code A]

Sponsored by tch-econ (The Teaching of Economics Discussion List)
Session Organizer and Chair: Jim Barbour,
Elon University (barbour@elon.edu)

Critical Reading: Teaching Students to Read and Understand Scholarly Articles
Steven Greenlaw,
Mary Washington College

Comparing Attrition and Enrollment Stats for In Class and Online Principles of Microeconomics Students
Judy Roobian-Mohr,
Columbus State Community College

The Virtual Recitation Session, A Comparison of Face-To-Face and Screen-To-Screen
Jim Barbour,
Elon University

Discussants:
David Mitchell,
George Mason University
Donald A. Coffin,
Indiana University Northwest
Mark Lautzenheiser,
University of Minnesota - Duluth