Teaching sessions at the Eastern Economics Association meeting in New York, 2004

Friday, February 20, 9:00am
[4] ONLINE TEACHING AND LEARNING (JEL Code A)
Session Sponsored by tch-econ, The Teaching of Economics Discussion List
Session Organizer:  James L. Barbour, Elon University
Session Chair: Ramin C. Maysami,
University of North Carolina at Pembroke (ramin.maysami@uncp.edu)

Does Online Learning Improve the Traditional Classroom Learning Experience? Evidence from Introductory Undergraduate and MBA Economics Classes
Ramin C. Maysami,
University of North Carolina at Pembroke (ramin.maysami@uncp.edu) and Lydia Gan, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (ALGGan@ntu.edu.sg)

Teaching and Learning Principles of Microeconomics Online: An Empirical Assessment
Chiara Gratton-Lavoie, Cal State Fullerton (cgratton@fullerton.edu) and Denise Stanley, Cal State Fullerton

Discussants:
Rod D. Raehsler, Clarion University (raehsler@clarion.edu)
Ramin C. Maysami, University of North Carolina at Pembroke (ramin.maysami@uncp.edu)
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Friday, February 20, 2:00pm
[45] ISSUES IN TEACHING AND LEARNING ECONOMICS (JEL Code A)
Session Organizers: James H. Cassing, University of Pittsburgh and Jerome C. Wells, University of Pittsburgh
Session Chair: Stephen Tokarick, International Monetary Fund

Evaluating Student Evaluation of Teaching
Shirley Cassing,
University of Pittsburgh

Grade Inflation: Causes and Consequences
Frederick Tannery, Slippery Rock University and the University of Pittsburgh

Using Experiments in Introductory Microeconomics
Katherine Willey Wolfe,
University of Pittsburgh

Discussants:
Jerome C. Wells, University of Pittsburgh
James H. Cassing, University of Pittsburgh
Frederick Tannery, Slippery Rock University and the University of Pittsburgh
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Friday, February 20, 4:00pm
[66] STRATEGIES FOR TEACHING ECONOMICS (JEL Code A)
Session Sponsored by tch-econ, The Teaching of Economics Discussion List
Session Organizer:  James L. Barbour, Elon University
Session Chair: Ronald L. Straight,
Howard University (rstraight@howard.edu)

The Use of Role-Playing in Teaching Economics
Edward J. Sullivan,
Lebanon Valley College (sullivan@lvc.edu)

Student-Centered Interdisciplinary Economics /Business Research Projects
Rajni Goel,
Howard University and Ronald L. Straight, Howard University (rstraight@howard.edu)

Service-learning as a tool for teaching economic development: Two cases.
Jose Vasquez, The College of Wooster (jvazquez@wooster.edu) and Amyaz Moledina, The College of Wooster (amoledina@wooster.edu)

Discussants:
Ronald L. Straight, Howard University (rstraight@howard.edu)
Jose Vasquez, The College of Wooster (jvazquez@wooster.edu)
Edward J. Sullivan, Lebanon Valley College (sullivan@lvc.edu)
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Saturday, February 21, 9:00am
[87] INTEGRATING TECHNOLOGY IN THE ECONOMICS AND BUSINESS CLASSROOM (JEL Code A)
Session Organizer and Chair: Richard J. Torz,
St. Joseph's College (rtorz@sjcny.edu)

Session Panelists:
Richard Anderson, New Jersey City University (randerson@njcu.edu)
Luis Rivera, Dowling College (RiveraL@dowling.edu)
William Strickland, College of Mount Saint Vincent (stricklandw@yahoo.com)
Richard J. Torz, St. Joseph's College (rtorz@sjcny.edu)

Discussion will take place among the panelists and the session audience.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Saturday, February 21, 11:00am
[107] TOPICS IN TEACHING (JEL Code A)
Session Chair: Annette D. Forti, SUNY Old Westbury (fortia@oldwestbury.edu)

Teaching the Millenials: Do We Need A Paradigm Shift?
Lee Hoke,
University of Tampa (lhoke@ut.edu)

Teaching the Socialist Calculation Debate
Thomas H. Cate,
Northern Kentucky University (cate@nku.edu) and Carl J. Simkonis, Northern Kentucky University (simkonisca@nku.edu)

Exploration in Economic Reasoning
Melaku Lakew, Richard Stockton College (melaku.lakew@stockton.edu) and Renga Iyer, Richard Stockton College

Discussants:
Fred J. Ruppel, Eastern Kentucky University (fred.ruppel@eku.edu)
Jay P. Hamilton, John Jay College of Criminal Justice (jhamilton@jjay.cuny.edu)
Lee Hoke, University of Tampa (lhoke@ut.edu)
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Saturday, February 21, 2:00pm
[125] ASSESSMENT OF STUDENTS AND INSTRUCTOR PERFORMANCE
 (JEL Code A)
Session Chair: Eugene W. Gotwalt,
Sweet Briar College (egotwalt@sbc.edu)

Developing Economic Thinking--Assessment of Students' Comprehension of Microeconomic Principles
Ora Freedman,
Villa Julie College (f-freedm@mail.vjc.edu)

Do We Teach Students to "Think Like Economists?"
Robert S. Goldfarb,
George Washington University (gldfrb@gwu.edu) and H. O. Stekler, George Washington University

The Relationship Between Tenure and Instructor Classroom Performance
Eugene W. Gotwalt,
Sweet Briar College (egotwalt@sbc.edu)

Discussants:
Eugene W. Gotwalt, Sweet Briar College (egotwalt@sbc.edu)
Ora Freedman, Villa Julie College (f-freedm@mail.vjc.edu)
Tiffani A. Gottschall, St. Lawrence University (tgottschall@stlawu.edu)
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Sunday, February 22, 9:00am
[180] ISSUES IN ECONOMIC EDUCATION (JEL Code A)
Session 4 of 4 Sessions Sponsored by CSWEP
Session Organizer: KimMarie McGoldrick, Robins School of Business,
University of Richmond (kmcgoldr@richmond.edu)
Session Chair: Andrea L. Ziegert,
Denison University (ziegert@denison.edu)

Effectively Moderating Electronic Discussions
Steve DeLoach,
Elon University (deloach@elon.edu) and Steve Greenlaw, Mary Washington College

Student Quantitative Literacy: Importance, Measurement, and Correlation with Economic Literacy
Peter Schuhmann, University of North Carolina--Wilmington (schuhmannp@uncwil.edu) and Robert Burrus, University of North Carolina—Wilmington

Gender Differences in Media Exposure, Economic Knowledge, and Attitudes about Economics
Gail Hoyt,
University of Kentucky (ghoyt@pop.uky.edu) and KimMarie McGoldrick, University of Richmond

Discussants:
Karine S. Moe, Macalester College (moe@Macalester.edu)
Andrea L. Ziegert, Denison University (ziegert@denison.edu)
Ann Owen, Hamilton College (aowen@hamilton.edu)
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _