Smith Archive(589bytes)   Noble Snare(550bytes)


In an unprecedented concert, GAGEEGO, the new-music group, will present the world premiere of THE NOBLE SNARE, a collection of 18 snare drum solos just released by Smith Publications. The solos are by such preeminent composers as Milton Babbitt, John Cage, Ben Johnston, Barney Childs, David Macbride and Stuart Smith.

The impressive roster of percussionists includes The Percussion Group--Cincinnati, Michael Udow, Gordon Gottlieb, Joseph Passaro,Brian Johnson, Tom Goldstein and many others--one solo per player.

The concert will be cosponsored by The Noble and Cooley Drum Company.

Since its debut at Symphony Space in 1980, GAGEEGO has presented annual concert series featuring works of widely divergent styles. Recently, GAGEEGO presented a concert in memory of Morton Feldman, including a performance of his Crinkled Symmetry. GAGEEGO's first record album, Gaqeeqo, met with immediate critical acclaim:

"...the members of GAGEEGO played with skill and commitment.... The sound is chaotic and exhilarating."- Tim Pane, New York Times

"Perhaps the most striking aspect about its exciting resourcefulness in both programming and performance."- John P. Welsh, Ear Magazine

The event will take place Monday, October 3, 1988, at 8 PM, at Marymount Manhattan Theatre, 221 E. 71st St., New York City. Admission is $8.00. For further information, contact Tom Goldstein, at (212) 242-0379, or David Macbride, at (203) 236-5752.

This program is made possible in part by a grant from MEET THE COMPOSER.

Top (169bytes)
Last updated: